NRS Series 10 Prelim 6

We had an excellent round with another packed house and great songs shared! We had 26 songwriters come out and we had a strong group of songwriters at this round! We had over 5000 views our live stream over on our Facebook Page.

The winners of Nashville Rising Star Songwriter Open-Mic Contest Series 10 Prelim #6 on Sep. 6, 2017. From left to right, Kim Shrum (music industry judge), Ben Becker (audience winners), James Gregory (music industry judges winner), Larry Cox (music industry judge), Keith Mohr (NRS creator/director)

Here’s a recap of Preliminary Round 6:

1- Ben Becker
2- Kinslee Melhorn
3- Krystal Helfinger
4- Mary Elissa
5- Scott Bass
6- Thomas Mac
7- Allie Sealy
8- Friday
9- Hunter Nash
10- Jace Seavers
11- Jackson Aide
12- Jeremy Moll
13- Matt Griffin
14- Rick Brown
15- Sami Jo
16- Steel Ivory
17- Whitney Merritt
18- Zachery Henard
19- Chip Phillips
20- Morgan Williams
21- James Gregory


Ben Becker (Audience Winner)
James Gregory (Judges Winner)

Ben and James will come back and join 18 other writers for the semi-final round to be held Wednesday, October 18, 2017 at Kings Bowl- The Whiskey Room Live. The finals will be held Wednesday, October 25, 2017 at Kings Bowl- The Whiskey Room Live


Larry Cox
Larry is a former Los Angeles based songwriter, producer, publisher and artist manager now living in the Nashville area. He has had more than 30 songs recorded and used in film and TV. Larry has worked with artists on Motown, Island, RCA, Capitol, Sony, Atlantic, MCA and others.
He is now working with up and coming artists and songwriters, developing their talent and producing their music.
Check out

Kim Shrum
Owner/CEO of Dream Music Group, Dream Music Studio & Music Dreamer Publishing (Sesac) He works with independent artists and songwriters providing production, management, and consulting services. Studio Clients include Disney Music, American Idol-Russia, Sony Movie Soundtracks, WSM650 Radio, Universal Pictures, University of Alabama Football & Lipscomb University. Music Director for upcoming movies, “First Of July” and “Memphis Sun”. Songwriting credits include Memphis Sun Soundtrack, Theme Song for Jerry Dahmen’s “I Love Life” WSM650 radio broadcast. Also entire Music Composition & Production of the “I Love Life” Triple CD Project featuring Sara Evans, Minnie Pearl & many other artist. Last month 2 songs & 1 artist/actress were placed by Dream Music Group with Movie Producers. Kim is a member of: CMA, NARAS, NSAI & IMdbPro
Check out:

Check out pics of the event.

Watch a replay of the entire event here: