NRS Series 8 Prelim 6

We had another great time at Nashville Rising Star Series 8 Prelim 6! Over 30 songwriters came out and we picked 21 by a random drawing to share their song. We heard many good songs and the talent was outstanding! We had over 3000 people watching our live stream over on our Facebook Page.

The winners of Nashville Rising Star Songwriter Open-Mic Contest Prelim #6. From left to right, Michael Whittaker (music industry judge), John Lawry (music industry judge), Mike Wilkerson (music industry judges winner), Bryce White (audience winner), Jaylen Coleman (VIP manager of The Whiskey Room Live), Keith Mohr (NRS creator/director)

Here’s a recap of Preliminary Round 5:

1- John Bogg
2- David Watson
3- Nicole Lewis
4- Emma Gwin
5- Hunter Nash
6- Taylor Graham
7- Jess Jocoy
8- Tyler Chambers
9- Chris Lane
10- Emily Unger
11- Friday
12- Tim Good
13- Kassie Wilson
14- Juliana Hale
15- Bryce White
16- Geoff Abraham
17- Morgen Snoddy
18- Becky Jones
19- Natalie Patterson
20- Matthew Johnston
21- Mike Wilkerson


Bryce White (Audience Winner)
Mike Wilkerson (Judges Winner)

Bryce and Mike will come back and join 12 other writers for the semi-final round to be held Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at Kings Bowl- The Whiskey Room Live. The finals will be held Wednesday, March 8 at Kings Bowl- The Whiskey Room Live


Michael Whittaker- Emmy nominated Michael Whittaker is a unique hybrid of his diverse upbringing as session pianist, producer and film composer.

Attended UCLA’s school of music and majoring in film scoring, Michael went on to compose music for over 300 television episodes and TV movies including the popular Power Rangers.

Currently Michael is scoring and producing for companies like Disney, Sony, NBC and Lions Gate Films. In 2011 his theme was chosen as the main theme of the new Disney Family Movies channel.

Michael’s orchestration and production skills have won many awards such as the Telly award for his score to the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles series, A 2013 Emmy nomination, Bank of America Musical Achievement award, International Association of Jazz Educators player excellence award, and the Clarence Brown Memorial scholarship for jazz.

Michael’s experience in many styles, has allowed him to work with many notable artists including Lionel Richie, Jimmy Kimmel Live house band, Mack Davis, Paulina Rubio, Wayman Tisdale, Lionel Richie, 98 Degrees, Cake, Brenda Russell, and many others..
Notable shows Michael’s music is featured: America’s Next Top Model, Funniest Pets and Animals, A&E Toby Keith Documentary, Battleground Earth Best Damn Sports, Biography of Tiger Woods, Dr 90210, Gene Simmons Family Jewels, Leprechaun 6, Modern Marvels, Naruto Movie, Xyber 9 New Dawn, Access Hollywood, X Men Marvel Cartoon, The New Addams Family, The Power Rangers, The Ninja Turtles, Americas Most Wanted, Action Man and Nobel Peace Awards 2000 theme.

Michael has recently started a new venture: Reel Whitty Werks- That helps songwriters with sync licensing for film and TV.

Michael’s band “The Bottom 40” recently released their debut album “Luvulation” which on its first day hit #5 on the i-tunes Smooth Jazz charts and charted on Billboard.

His studio is a state of the art music production facility in Franklin, TN called Velvet Cinema studio.

John Lawry- John is a musician, composer, producer, and songwriter. He is most remembered for being the keyboardist of Christian rock band Petra during their most prolific years. As a member of Petra, John is a recipient of four GRAMMY Awards and multiple Dove Awards. In 2014 was awarded the SESAC LIFETIME LEGACY Award.

Watch a replay of the entire event here: