NRS Series 9 Prelim 4

We had another great round tonight with 18 songwriters who shared their song on the red velvet stage at The Whiskey Room Live. We had over 1000 people watching our live stream over on our Facebook Page. Be sure to like our Facebook page to keep up with our events.

The winners of Nashville Rising Star Songwriter Open-Mic Contest, Series 9. From left to right, Nancy Deckant (music industry judge), Chad Cates (audience winner), Jess Jacoy (music industry winner), Jason Wyatt (music industry judge), Jaylen Coleman (VIP manager at Kings), Keith Mohr (NRS creator/director).

Here’s a recap of Preliminary Round 4:

1- Mary Williams
2- Shae Taylor
3- Adam Smith
4- Joe Hash
5- Jess Jocoy
6- Dustin craig
7- Rowe
8- Chad Cates
9- Sophia Angeles
10- David Denham
11- Jenna Lea
12- Tim Hornbeak
13- Natalia Rose
14- Jesse Lopez
15- Zane Storey
16- Jared Minnix
17- Erica Rebinski
18- William Blake


Chad Cates (Audience Winner)
Jess Jacoy (Judges Winner)

Chad and Jess will come back and join 12 other writers for the semi-final round to be held Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at Kings Bowl- The Whiskey Room Live. The finals will be held Wednesday, May 31 at Kings Bowl- The Whiskey Room Live


Nancy Deckant
Nancy is a staff writer and Senior Creative Director at Riser Music, a publishing company in Nashville. She is a member of the Music Row Song pluggers group and represents the music of numerous hit songwriters.

In 2016, Nancy became a member of an elite group of songwriters when her song “We Are The Stars”, won first place for the Pop Category in the prestigious Indie International Songwriters Competition.

Nancy spent 8 years as NSAI Workshop Coordinator, evaluating countless songs and encouraging songwriters on their journey in music. She has played at Songwriter Festivals including Tin Pan South, Smokey Mountain Songwriter Festival and Frank Brown. Prior to moving to Nashville, Nancy spent 10 years in bands and has opened for Craig Morgan, Brett Eldridge and George Jones.

Learn more at:

Jason Wyatt
Jason was the very first winner of Rising Star, when we started the contest some 8 years ago here in Franklin!

Since that time, Jason was the former lead singer of the ACM nominated 4 time top 40 band “The Lost Trailers.” Jason now focuses his time developing new artists, and has made a name for himself writing and producing projects from country to pop to Rock.

His new production and artist development company is Nashville Artist Development.

Check them out at
Check out pics of the event.

Watch a replay of the entire event here:

Series 9 Preliminary Round 4 (Part 1)- April 12, 2017

Series 9 Preliminary Round 4 (Part 2)- April 12, 2017