NRS Series 9 Prelim 5

We had another great round tonight with 20 songwriters who shared their song on the red velvet stage at The Whiskey Room Live. We had over 3500 people watching our live stream over on our Facebook Page. Be sure to like our Facebook page to keep up with our events.

Winners of Nashville Rising Star Songwriter Open-Mic Contest Series 9 Prelim #5. From left to right, Dennis Dearing (music industry judge), Scott Metko (music industry judge), Rob Carona (music industry judges winner), Jesse Lopez (audience winner), Jaylen Coleman (VIP manager of Kings/Whiskey Room Live), Keith Mohr (NRS creator/director)

Here’s a recap of Preliminary Round 5:

1- Luis Rey
2- David Denham
3- Kathy Ashworth
4- Shae Taylor
5- Brenna Beatty
6- Doug Allen
7- Tim Hornbeak
8- AllanJames
9- Zane Storey
10- Courtney Peveler
11- Jesse Lopez
12- Malarie McConaha
13- Dustin Craig
14- Gabe Hamilton
15- Brady Alan Jones
16- Nick & Dani
17- Rob Carona
18- Jared Minnix
19- Hemp Meadows
20- William Blake


Jesse Lopez (Audience Winner)
Rob Carona (Judges Winner)

Jesse and Rob will come back and join 12 other writers for the semi-final round to be held Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at Kings Bowl- The Whiskey Room Live. The finals will be held Wednesday, May 31 at Kings Bowl- The Whiskey Room Live


For over 25 years, Dennis Dearing has been passionate about creating quality music. He is a record producer, recording engineer, studio musician and songwriter based here in Franklin.
Learn more at:

Scott is the COO of Landstar Entertainment. They provide a myriad of services including audio production, artist development, publishing, and custom film & video production. Scott manages classic rock Nick Gilder (Hot Child in the City).

Scott is also the manager and drummer for the David Ball band. He recently. played drums with Lionel Hampton at Carnegie Hall

Learn more at: and

Check out pics of the event below.

Watch a replay of the entire event here:

Series 9 Preliminary Round 5 April 26, 2017